Sometimes I like to cook

This isn’t going to be a sewing/quilting post today, nope its about brown sugar. Brown sugar you ask?! Well in my somewhat “free time” I love to bake, and I love to figure out how to make things that you buy in the store at home.
I don’t exactly live in the best area for finding all the latest,coolest baking (or cooking) ingredients so what do I do? I google, google, google until I figure out how to make what it is I need to make.
I’m aware that brown sugar is readily available everywhere but when you get up at 5:30 in the morning and discover their is NO brown sugar for that breakfast you wanted to make you tend to have to figure out what to sub for said missing ingredient.
Now my best friend told me a few months ago that you could make brown sugar, I was a bit skeptical but I kept that in the back of my mind because i was going to google that! lol Well guys im here to tell you its easy to make and you only need two ingredients! Seriously why buy it when you probably already have the ingredients in your home and its cheaper to make!!

All you need is sugar, molasses and tsp or TBS depending on how much sugar you use.
I don’t really have an exact amount as I just pour and go…but Ill do about 1 Cup of sugar and 1 tsp of Molasses to start out with.

IMG_5208[1]

Pour some sugar in a glass jar or bowl like so.
IMG_5210[1]

Add in the 1 tsp of Molasses like i did here.
IMG_5211[1]

Now grab yourself a fork and mix it together. It’s going to look a bit weird and it’s going to look like its not mixing but keeping working with it.
I usually do the stir and smash motion through out the whole process it helps break up the molasses and really works it into the sugar.
IMG_5213[1]

I know this is a different bowl but I had already made this batch when i decided it would be cool to make a blog about it lol anyway this is what it should look like after about 5-8min of mixing and smashing with your fork. Now how cool is that!? That’s homemade brown sugar!! It’s a bit dark because apparently i’m heavy handed with the molasses so if you prefer light brown sugar just either add less or more sugar it’ll lighten up.

You will also find that you will have some little balls of molasses that didn’t exactly break up in the sugar and that’s ok, i’m sure you’ve seen that in the store bought kind because I know I have! 😉
IMG_5214[1]

Here is another picture because I decided it needed to be in a pretty glass jar for all to see.
IMG_5215[1]

Here is a fun fact if you don’t already know this just throw in a slice of bread and it’ll keep your brown sugar nice and moist for a very long time….I would rather not admit to how long I’ve kept a slice of bread in my sugar but lets just say it never did mold(the bread that is) lol
I hope you all try this!
I don’t know about you but I rarely use brown sugar its usually for oatmeal, or my husbands favorite cookies. At least this way I can make just the right amount I need!

Thanks for reading and I hope to see y’all very soon I’ve got a gorgeous quilt ill be posting about very soon!
Happy Quilting(and for today baking!)
Catherine

p.s sorry about the cell phone pictures I swear one day ill have a normal camera 😉

One thought on “Sometimes I like to cook

Leave a Reply

