Pushing Myself

Today im going to talk about one of the things I don’t like about quilting. For most people they either don’t like piecing, or maybe even the quilting part of it, and some don’t like putting the binding on. For me I do not like straight quilting, I can’t stand it, it bores me I hate it.

For the past few months I have been working on these beautiful blue batik and gray quilts, just love the colors. Anyway I finished the first one awhile back and I tried my hand at stippling. That was my first time to ever free motion quilt on such a large surface, I have to say it was difficult but loved doing it. Funny thing about me is I rather like difficult situations….maybe that’s my weird fetish? (are you clutching your pearls because i said fetish?!) I made soooo many mistakes on that quilt but guess what?! nobody will ever notice because the awesome thing about stippling is you can make a huge mess and as long as you kind of just go with it, it’ll turn out awesome.

That’s what scares me about straight lines….people can see your mistakes. I hate making mistakes just ask my husband. He often comes home to me crying because the homemade meal I prepared tastes like crap or looks weird.

So the past few weeks i’ve working on his brother quilt( i say brother instead of sister because these were made for boys and it just seemed right) and I told myself i want to make the quilting on this different because they will be matching in every other way so why not?! I thought about it and thought about it and even dreamed about how i would quilt it!
I finally decided on straight line quilting….my worse enemy straight lines. Honestly besides stippling this was the only other way to make the quilt stand out. My sewing has never been straight no matter how much i tried i would end up with some wiggle. I pushed myself though i said to myself “girl quite being a wimp and do it! Make those straight lines!”

I am pleased to announce that after a few weeks of working on it that my lines have gotten straighter and straighter! Maybe this was the push i needed? I needed to get out of my comfort zone and get over my fear of straight line quilting. Heck that’s all they really did back in the day so why couldn’t I do it?! I’m glad I decided to do it, its making the quilt look super cool and is exactly how i imagined it would be!

Not too shabby if I do say so myself?!
photo (11)

I love quilting because its always pushing me to be better πŸ™‚ What are you scared of? Have you always wanted to try quilting or even just sewing but have been to nervous to try it? I think I should remind myself every now and then that the greatest quilters out there didn’t become great over night! Its ok to make mistakes and if my lines arnt that straight then that’s ok at least my friend will love her quilt, In the end that’s all that matters.

I’m sure you were wondering what the other quilt looked like well here it is! This was my first ever stippling attempt and it made this quilt look awesome, so can you imagine what the straight lines are doing to the other one?!?!
photo (12)

Happy quilting!
Catherine

5 thoughts on “Pushing Myself

  1. Wow. You’re doing an awesome job! πŸ™‚
    I bought a free motion foot for my babylock, and if you read on my “no-sew Labor Day weekend” post, I posted a picture of what my first attempt at free motion quilting looks like.. Lol how embarrassing! I only played with it for a minute, and I’m afraid of free motion quilting… And stippling.. Lol I stick to straight lines! But I hope to mustard up enough courage to practice circles, stripling and free motion quilting someday! πŸ™‚ I have the sewing machine, I have the foot, and I have the time, so what’s my excuse?! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for reminding me that change and learning NEW things are good!

  2. Great job pushing yourself out of your comfort zone! I love being reminded by other people to get over my fears and just do it! You can’t get better if you don’t try, right?! I need to get over my fear of FMQ and just go for it! Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

